Key Education: 8th Annual Chicago Diabetes Day

Graeme Bell, PhD (Left), awardee Steven E. Shoelson, M.D., Ph.D. (Middle), and Donald Steiner, MD celebrate the achievements in diabetes research at the 2012 Chicago Diabetes Day.

On Saturday, May 18, 2013, The University of Chicago, Diabetes Research and Training Center and Kovler Diabetes Center will present the 8th Annual Chicago Diabetes Day from 8:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.  This renowned conference is intended to serve as a forum for basic and clinical investigators, clinicians and pharmaceutical industry personnel in Chicago and the Midwest. Along with a lecture series, a poster session is planned and the top eight posters will receive an award of $100 each.

Speakers from the 2012 Annual Chicago Diabetes Day have included speakers Steven Shoelson, MD, PhD (Harvard Medical School), Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD (University of North Carolina), Gary Lewis (University of Toronto) and Elbert Huang, MD, MPH (University of Chicago.

Another significant part of the conference is the Donald F. Steiner Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diabetes Research.  The award was established to annually honor an investigator carrying out research in the field of diabetes.  Past honorees include:

  • 2012 Steven E. Shoelson, M.D., Ph.D.
    Joslin DIabetes Center, Harvard Medical School
  • 2011 Michael S. German, M.D.
    Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco
  • 2010 Susumu Seino , M.D., D.M.Sci.
    Department of Physiology and Molecular Medicine, and Internal Medicine, Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine
  • 2009 Roger D. Cone, Ph.D.
    Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Vanderbilt University
  • 2008 George Eisenbarth, MD, Ph.D.
    Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes, University of Colorado
  • 2007 Daniel J. Drucker, M.D.
    Banting and Best Diabetes Centre, University of Toronto
  • 2006 Andrew Hattersley, M.D.
    Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter & Plymouth

This distinguished honor includes an engraved crystal paperweight and $5,000.  The award is named for Donald F. Steiner, M.D., the A.N. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor, The University of Chicago, a pioneering diabetes investigator and discoverer of proinsulin. This is an international award and the awardee is selected by a committee chaired by Dr. Louis H. Philipson including Professor Steiner.

For more information on the conference please link to or contact Gladys Paz at 773.702.5849.